Tags

,

For my first post on this blog, I wanted a fancy and complex recipe ……to show off my culinary skills if you will !!! But whom am I kidding ?? With my hectic life, all I can do everyday is make sure the family has 2 hot freshly cooked meals and try to make it healthy. I do prepare elaborate meals , but they are weekend affairs or special occasions. Is’nt that everybody’s life ??? So I settled on a simple but relatively different recipe. Everyone in the family with the exception of me loves apples. I am indifferent…..not my favourite but don’t hate it either. Its the only fruit my son  N eats !!  Now if only I can get him to eat this rice !  When I buy apples , they are gone within 2-3 days. Once in a while there are some left over, generally granny smiths that someone gave us as a hostess gift. I generally make a cake with them . Dont look so skeptical , the tart taste of the granny smith is balanced perfectly by the sugar in the recipe. In search of other recipes, I turned to my new best friend….food blogs and came upon this recipe by Mandira at Ahaar. I twisted it bit to suit the tastes of my family. The apples retain their crunch, the heat of  chilli powder enhances the sweetness of the apples and results in a delicious dish.  Don’t be intimidated by the long list of ingredients, they are all available in an Indian kitchen .

Apple Rices

1 Granny Smith Apple , finely chopped

2  cups Basmati Rice

1 small Onion , finely chopped

1 small Tomato, finely chopped

1 inch Ginger grated

1  tbsp Lime juice

2 Green Chillies, finely chopped

½ tsp Cumin Seeds

½  tsp Urd Dal

½ tsp Mustard Seeds

½ sprig Curry Leaves

¼ tsp Turmeric

½ tsp Red Chilli powder

½  tsp Cumin powder

½ tsp Coriander  powder

Salt  to taste

2 tbsp  Oil

Cilantro, finely chopped  for garnish

Cook the basmati rice with 4 cups of water, using a rice to water ratio of 1:2 . Cool by spreading in a single layer.

In oil, saute cumin seeds, mustard seeds, urd dal and curry leaves. Once the seeds pop, add the onions, greend chillies and ginger.

When the onions are  translucent, add all the spices and tomatoes. When they are soft , add the apples and salt. Saute for 3-4 minutes. The apples should be slightly soft but still crisp.

Add the  rice and lime juice and mix well.  Garnish with cilantro and serve .

Serves 4.

You can use other apples like a Golden Delicious.  If you do so, add a little more lime juice to achieve a balance as they  tend to be sweeter.  I would avoid using Red Delicious or Gala or the numerous varities of red apples that are available……. they break down while cooking and end up in a mush !!  I served mine with a raita ( yogurt with vegetables ) and pan fried potatoes with onions that are caramelized. Now thats a whole other delicious recipe !!!

