Tags

, ,

Those who know my hubby V well know he is not a Pizza fan……but there are a couple of pizzas  he will eat every time its put in front of him. It is my THAI STYLE PIZZA and my PANEER TIKKA PIZZA .  I like Pizza and love to try new combinations !! One day , in search of new combo and a way to get V to eat it too, I came across this pizza in the  Thailand Pizza Hut franchise and decided to make my own with the  ingredients mentioned in the pizza ….yes I did go to that extent !!!! I ate the paneer tikka one in India !! I buy my dough and roll into a thin crust and top it the way the family likes. Its a little more labour intensive than just lifting a phone and placing an order but its a healthier version and I get to eat pizza. I buy my dough from Trader Joe’s ….its inexpensive , freezes well and tatses great and is organic. What more can one ask for ??? I also buy my yellow thai curry sauce from there too. I do take shortcuts !!!

Thai Style Pizza

Thai Style Pizza

Thai Style Pizza :

    16 oz Pizza Dough

    3 oz Jalapeño Jack cheese, Grated

    1 small Red Onion, sliced

    1 small Carrot, cut in half and sliced

    1 small Bell Pepper, sliced

    ¼ cup Green Beans, cut in ½ “ lengths

    ¼ cup Cauliflower florets

    ¼ cup Peanuts, skinned

    1 cup Yellow Thai Curry sauce

    2 tbsp Oil

 

Preheat the oven to 400 F. Meanwhile sauté the onion in the oil till soft.

    Add the Vegetables and sauté for 4-5 minutes . Then add the sauce and sauté further.

    Add the peanuts and remove from heat when the sauce is thick and coats the vegetables.

    Using a little flour , roll out the dough. Using your fists and knuckles , stretch the dough but do not tear. Use a rolling pin to flatten the edges.

    Place on a Pizza stone , if you have it or use a greased cookie sheet like me.

    Spread the cheese on the dough , reserving a little for the end.

    Spread the vegetables on the dough covering the surface evenly. Top with the rest of the cheese .

    Bake for 10-15 minutes, till the crust is done to your liking and the cheese is bubbly  .

    Serve hot .

 

I like my crust thin so thats how I roll it. You can roll yours to your liking. If you prefer use a pre-made pizza base. I use very little cheese for the pizza since V does not like cheese. I use just enough to adhere the toppings to the base. You can certainly increase the amounts. I sometimes add pineapple to the pizza too . You can play with the toppings till you find your favourite .

 

Paneer Tikka Pizza

Paneer Tikka Pizza

Paneer Tikka Pizza:

6 0z Paneer, cubed

½ cup yogurt, Greek style

1 tbsp chopped Garlic

1 tbsp Ginger paste

1 tsp Deggi Chilli powder (see notes below)

2 tsp kosher salt

2 tsp Tandoori Masala

1 small Red Onion, sliced

1 medium Green Bell Pepper, sliced

1 medium Red Bell Pepper, sliced

2 tbsp Oil

16 oz Pizza Dough

3 oz Jalapeno Jack Cheese, grated

1   Red/ Green Thai Chilli, chopped

Mix together the yogurt with the garlic, ginger paste, chilli powder, 1 tsp masala and 1 tsp salt. Pour over paneer cubes arranged in a single layer. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes to an hour.

Preheat the oven to 400 F. Meanwhile sauté the onions and the chilli in oil, till they are soft.

Add the peppers and sauté further for 3-4 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

Roll out the dough to desired thickness. Spread the cheese, reserving a little for the topping.

Spread the onion-pepper mixture evenly over the dough.

Top with marinated Paneer cubes and reserved cheese.

Bake until crust is brown and cheese is bubbly.

Serve hot.

 

Deggi Chillies are round red chillies from Kashmir. They are used more for their red colour than heat. They are easily available in powder form in Indian stores , however if not available substitute equal parts cayene and sweet paprika.

 

IMG_3415

