Tags

,

Spring Dosa

I am a Dosa snob !!! It has to be made a certain way, has to have all the accompaniments…blah blah blah ! I absolutely will not eat dosas with mullaigai podi…gun powder to those in Atlanta. Once at a restaurant , I had a dosa called the SPRING DOSA. It had the same stuffing as a spring roll and was cut like one too. Now , bored of eating the same dosas , I decided to try my hand at this. First I gave the traditional stuffing with the soy sauce, a try. Lets just say, its a combo that will not be repeated in this household ! I then put my thinking cap on….hard to do with all the “ mommy “ this and “ he/she did this “ around me !!! I came up with this version. I like it a lot. But ……as my uncle M in Coimbatore , says….. “if it has onions , tomatoes and masala in it , G will like it ” !!!! There is no tomatoes in this but it has the other 2 .

I being who I am, did not roll into a spring roll , neither did I bother to cut it. I made it the way you would a regular masala dosa and enjoyed every bite. I have seen versions where they use the traditional chinese mixture and people enjoying it. Its up to you to experiment and figure out which one you prefer.I have also seen versions and tasted versions which chaat masala instead of garam masala. Its more subtle but tangier. Again, its a matter of preference. Food is so subjective……what one likes another might not !!!

Spring Dosa

SPRING DOSA

  

1 medium Red Onion, sliced thinly

1 medium Green Bell Pepper, thinly sliced

¼ cup Green Beans, sliced on a bias

½ cup Carrots , cut in thin matchsticks

¾ cup Cabbage, shredded

½ tbsp Ginger paste

Salt to taste

½ tsp Red Chili powder

½ tsp Garam Masala

3 tbsp Cilantro, finely chopped

Oil

4 cups Dosa Batter

Blanch the green beans and carrots. They should be half cooked. Set aside.

In oil, sauté onions and ginger paste. When they are translucent, add the bell peppers. Saute for another 2 minutes.

Now add the spice powders and saute till the aromas are released. It should take only 30 seconds or so.

Now add all the vegetables. Add 2-3 tbsp of water, cover and cook on low heat.

In about 5-6 minutes, the vegetables should be cooked but still crisp. Add the cilantro and set aside.

Heat the dosa pan. I rub the pan with a cut onion to prevent the dosa from sticking and also for the flavour.

Pour a ladle of batter and spread it to form the dosa. Pour oil on the perimeter of the dosa.

When its brown , flip it and cook for 30 seconds.

Flip it back again and spread the filling in the center and then roll the dosa to form a spring roll like form.

Cut into pieces and serve with the chutney of your choice.

 

