Tags

, ,

Apple Mango Salsa

I love appetizers . I can make a whole meal out of them . They are tiny bites of different flavours and I don’t end up with a lot of leftovers !!!! Since I landed in this country I have whole heartedly embraced the concept of dips……..I love them. I recently came across a blog that had a recipe for APPLE MANGO SALSA . I love mangoes, jalapeños and lime , all of which this recipe has. I made it thinking if that even if V doesn’t like it, I know my friends ( fellow moms ) will like it , but I didn’t have any left over !! Not only did V like it , the twinnies loved it too !!!! They left the chips and just ate the salsa. It is made with jalapeño jelly which is a new ingredient for me . I look forward to trying it in various other dishes . It is tangy , sweet and spicy…..just delicious. We ate with just tortilla chips , plain ones at that. I didn’t want anything to compete with the salsa. If you like meat , serve it with any grilled meat. The measurements are approximates, multiply or reduce as per your taste.

You can use any variety of apple , I used Granny Smith as they tend not to break down fast. I used store bought jalapeño jelly, no specific brand. It did have sugar in it. If you want to omit it , just add a couple of chopped jalapeños and proceed with all the other ingredients. You can use cilantro instead of mint. There tend to be two kinds of people in the world…..ones who like cilantro or ones who don’t !!! I like my salsa cold in the summer , makes for a great contrast against the crunchy chips, so I refrigerated the fruits before I dressed it. I rubbed a lime on the apple to prevent it from browning. One important thing though……Pour the dressing just before serving as it will turn the salsa runny the longer it sits !!!

Jalapeno Jelly

Jalapeno Jelly

APPLE MANGO SALSA

 

1 Apple, diced

½ cup Mango, diced

¼ cup Red Onion, chopped finely

2 tbsp Red Jalapeño Jelly

juice of 1 Lime

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 tbsp Mint, chopped finely

Mix together the fruits with the onions. Cover and chill till required.

For the dressing, mix together the lime juice, salt , pepper and jalapeño jelly. It takes a minute or so for the jelly to thin down and mix with the lime juice.

Add to the fruits just before serving. Add the mint and toss till well mixed.

Serve with chips.

Apple Mango Salsa

