Tags

,

I do not excel at making desserts…… it irritates me quite a bit. How can I be a good cook if I cannot cook sweet dishes !!! In college, I made quite a few attempts and I was successful to a certain extent…….well I passed , at the top of my class , so I have the skills just need the passion I suppose. The twins turned 2 last week and since their father could not take the day off to celebrate and do stuff together , which is our usual thing, I decided to make it special by baking a cake. I perused some recipes and then discarded all as I had to buy ingredients for some and some were too much ! Then I decided to bake BANANA BREAD, which the twins love and its simple, I had everything and the deciding factor…… all the kids could help and they are so proud at the end of it. N  measured out the flours, the twins cut the banana into chunks and I let N pour it into the tins. What’s so special about my banana bread recipe you ask ???? It has no butter in it….yes no butter for you health conscious people out there. I use oil instead and believe me , it tastes as good as the one with butter. It took me browsing thru 50 odd recipes before I came across this one and it is worth every bit of the effort. The bread is soft with the taste of bananas shining thru. It is not too sweet which makes it perfect for a teatime snack. I love it and so do the kids . We cut slices , put candles on them and blew them out to celebrate the big “2”.

Banana Bread

1 cup All Purpose Flour

1 cup Wheat Flour

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Baking powder

1 tsp Salt

2 Eggs

1 cup Sugar

4 very ripe Bananas

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

½ cup Oil

1 tsp Cinnamon

¼ cup chopped Walnuts

Banana Bread

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Prepare the loaf tins by spraying the sides with nonstick spray.

Mix together 1 tsp of flour with the chopped nuts and set aside.

In a bowl, sift together flours, baking soda and powder and salt.

In a food processor, mix together eggs, sugar, bananas, vanilla, oil and cinnamon. Pour into a bowl.

Stir in the flour mixture , a third at a time, until just combined. Do not over mix. Add the nuts with the last 1/3rd.

Pour into prepared loaf tins.

Bake for 30-45 minutes . To check if it is done, insert a bamboo skewer into the centre and if it comes out clean, the bread is ready.

Banana Bread

I use a combination of flours just to keep it healthier. You can use all wheat or all maida, depending on your tastes. You can also use different types of sugars, brown or Castor or even combine them . I like to use brown. I have a large loaf tin so I bake only one loaf. This time I made 2 , one with nuts for V and me and one without for the kids. I mix the flour and nuts to keep them from sinking to the bottom of the loaf as it bakes. It is essential to use both baking powder and baking soda to give the loaf a light and airy texture .

