Tags

,

Every once in a while, I find myself in a cooking rut so to speak ! I run out os creativity and am too lazy to go thru the recipes that I have collected. V and the kids hate me during those days b’coz I drive them crazy with ” what do I make for dinner /lunch ? ” question. During one such period, I forced myself to look thru the recipes ( my father was in town and I had to cook something decent ) and came across this. It was different enough to spark an interest and easy to make. It is a rather mild subzi relying more on the taste of the vegetables to shine rather than the spices. It is a Tarla Dalal inspired recipe…….PATIALA SUBZI. I have no clue if such a subzi is made in Patiala but I liked the taste and also the fact that its easy enough to be an everyday subzi. It has a white gravy with milk and the heat comes from green chillies rather than powder and the only other spice apart from turmeric is cinnamon which gives it an earthy taste.

Patiala Subzi

Patiala Subzi

      ¼ cup cubed Carrots

¼ cup chopped Cauliflower Florets

¼ cup chopped Green Beans

1 small Potato , cubed

¼ cup chopped Green Bell Pepper

2-3 tbsp Peas

I small Onion, finely chopped

2 Green Chillies, finely chopped

¼ tsp Turmeric

1 cup Milk

1 tsp Honey

½ tsp Cinnamon powder

1 tbsp chopped Cilantro

2-3 tbsp Oil

salt to taste

3 cloves Garlic

1 inch piece of Ginger

      Grind the ginger and garlic to a smooth paste.

In oil, sauté the onions and green chillies till the onions are soft and translucent. Add the paste and sauté further for a couple of minutes.

Add the vegetables and ¼ cup of milk. Reduce the heat and cover. Let the veggies steam and cook till ¾ done.

Add the turmeric, salt , cinnamon powder, remaining milk and honey and cook till it forms a semi liquid gravy. It should takes about 5- 6 minutes on medium heat.

Garnish with chopped cilantro.

 

Patiala Subzi

Patiala Subzi

The original recipe called for boiled vegetable and cornflour to thicken the gravy. I omitted the cornflour and cooked the veggies in the milk where the natural starch from the potatoes thicken the gravy. Do not worry about the honey in the recipe, it somehow enhances the heat rather than making the dish sweeter. You can use any veggies you like.I also used Paneer cubes in mine. If the heat from the chillies is not enough, feel free to add chilli powder. This however made a nice change to the usual masala filled suzbis.

