Tags

,

Have you ever given thought to what you were like before kids entered your life ???? I have…. and do constantly !!!! For one it gives me hope that all the mischief will give way to a responsible and lovable adult …. and also lets me know what to do to get the kids to respond the way I want them to !!!!! As far as this post is concerned, what my kids changed in me are my eating habits. Once N started his peculiar food habits, it was difficult for me as I had to cook within his parameters and also mine b’coz I am not a fan of a couple vegetables…….sweet potatoes being one of them but there are only so many veggies you can grind or mash and put in rices or breads. One day, my sis S’s MIL made these SWEET POTATO ROTIS and N ate them ……..since then I have overcome my aversion to sweet potatoes and made them regularly. I can now say that I even like these. Its a nice position to be in……I can tell my kids that I ate something that was good for me and liked it !!! With the addition of omam ( ajwain / carom ) seeds , its even good for digestion. I also like the fact that I can make for anybody including people with diabetes.  Since its simple enough to make , it will feature on our menu for a long time to come. Thanks for this one, Mami !

 

Sweet Potato Roti

Sweet Potato Roti

 

    1 medium sized Sweet Potato, peeled and cut in cubes

    2 ½ cups Wheat Flour

    ¼ tsp Omam/ Ajwain/ Carom Seeds

    1 tsp Red Chilli powder

    ½ tsp Turmeric

    1- 2 tbsp Oil

    Salt to taste

 

    Cook the sweet potato cubes in water till soft. Mash and let cool.

    Mix together with all the other ingredients to form a nice pliable dough.

    Let the dough rest for 15- 20 minutes and then roll into rotis and cook on a tava.

    Serve with any subzi.

 

Sweet Potato Roti

Sweet Potato Roti

