Tags

, ,

I tend to avoid using fruits in my cooking with the exception of my apple rice, but when I came across this recipe I could not resist. I had to try it . It is my ORANGE SAFFRON RICE. I was making Baked Spicy Vegetables ( recipe for a later post ) for dinner and needed a starch to go with it. I decided on this rice and it turned out perfect. It was a little less spicy than V would have liked so if you are the same, feel free to add a few chillies or more chilli powder to it. I liked it. It had a touch of sweetness from the orange juice which also gave it a tang. The coconut milk make it creamy and saffron exotic, while the nuts add a crunch. Its a departure from my usual plethora of recipes and very well received. The colour just enhances it and lets face it, the experts say that orange is a colour that is always warm and cheery!

 

Orange Saffron Rice

Orange Saffron Rice

2 cups Basmati Rice

1 small Onion , thinly sliced

½ cup Green Peas

1 cup Coconut Milk

1 cup Orange Juice

½ cup Orange Segments

2 Bay leaves

4-5 Cardamom Pods

1 tsp Black Peppercorns

½ tsp Chilli powder

Salt to taste

2 tbsp Cashew halves

½ tsp Saffron, soaked in a tbsp of coconut milk

In a tbsp of oil, fry the cashew halve till golden brown and set aside.

In the same pan, add 2 tbsp of oil, and sauté the whole spices. When they sizzle , add the onion and sauté till translucent.

Add the peas and the rice and sauté for a couple of minutes so that the oil coats the rice grains.

Mix together the coconut milk and orange juice with 2 cups of water and add to the rice.

Add the salt, chilli powder and saffron and stir well. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium and partially cover. Cook till done.

Using a fork, fluff the rice, add orange segments and cashew halves. Serve.

Orange Saffron Rice

Orange Saffron Rice

I use slivers of orange zest as a garnish along with a slice of orange. I think this goes best with a spicy hot side as they will balance each other. I cooked mine on the stove top. You can pick yours, microwave, rice cooker, whatever works for you.

