Tags

I am a vegetarian but I love eggs !! I can eat American breakfast style eggs  any time of the day. One of my favourite places to eat is IHOP. Sadly, the passion for eggs is confined to me in my household. V will eat eggs only under duress , forget N eating them and the A will takes a few bites but thats it !!!  So my opportunities to cook with eggs are few and far between ! I make this on the days the kids have something to eat and its only me that I have to cook for. This is my EGG CURRY. I simmer cooked eggs in a robust onion-tomato gravy that is enhanced with a hint of tang from tamarind. This is a cinch to make and is absolutely delicious. I love to eat this curry with toast………a Desi version of eggs and toast if you like !!

Egg Curry

Egg Curry

      4 large hard cooked, peeled Eggs1 small Red Onion, cut in chunks

2 Garlic cloves

½ inch Ginger, skinned

1 medium sized Tomato, cut in chunks

2 Green Chillies, chopped

½ tsp Chilli powder

¼ tsp Turmeric

1 tsp Garam Masala

1 tsp Tamarind concentrate / marble size ball of tamarind

1 tsp Honey

2 tbsp of Cilantro, chopped

Salt to taste

2 tbsp Oil

      Heat the oil and sauté the onions, garlic and ginger till the onions are almost light brown in colour.Now add the tomatoes, turmeric, chilli powder and salt and cook for a few more minutes.

Transfer to a blender ,cool and then adding a little water and the tamarind, puree to make a smooth sauce.

Pour the sauce back into the pan, add the chillies, honey and the garam masala and bring to a boil.

Halve the eggs and lower into the curry, cut side up. Simmer for 2 minutes.

To serve, pour the sauce on a platter , place the eggs on the sauce and garnish with cilantro.

I have used tamarind to add a bit of tang and sourness to the sauce, if you wish you can use vinegar for a similar yet different taste. The same goes with honey ….to me it enhances the heat of the chillies and the chilli powder but feel free to remove it completely. If sautéing and the pureeing seem too laborious for you , then just chop the vegetables finely and follow the recipe excluding the step with the blender.

