Tags

, ,

Hot & Sour Noodle Soup

This is my ode to the all time  favourite American soup, the Chicken Noodle Soup. Its the HOT & SOUR NOODLE SOUP , my cure for a cold. It started its life as a soup that I had to settle for when I did not have all the ingredients for the warm and comforting soup that I wanted to for my friend , N ,who had a cold . I used what I had and am happy to say that I loved the end result so much that I made it again for V . It is now a part of my cooking repertoire. Its a  spicy soup which will open up your nostrils and bring your taste buds to life. This soup is a cross between a Mein Chow soup and a Noodle soup. I use a lot of veggies ( that are barely cooked  to retain a lot of crunch  ) and  noodles to add body . It has tang, heat and a sweet undertone that elevates a plain noodle soup to a whole new level.

HOT & SOUR NOODLE SOUP

6 cups Vegetable Stock

¼ cup chopped Carrots

¼ cup chopped Cabbage

¼ cup chopped Green Beans

¼ cup chopped Cauliflower florets

¼ cup chopped Green Peppers

2 tbsp finely chopped Cilantro

2-3 stalks Spring Onions chopped, both whites and greens

2 tsp chopped Ginger

2 tsp chopped Garlic

2 tsp Red Chilli Flakes

1 tsp Sugar

2 tsp Soy Sauce

½ tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar

Salt and Pepper to taste

handful of Rice/ Glass Noodles, broken in half

In a little oil, sauté the ginger, garlic and the whites of the spring onions. Once a little soft , add the veggies and sauté

Add all the seasonings except the vinegar and sauté again. Now add the stock and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer.

When the veggies are half cooked , add the noodles and increase the heat to medium and let the noodles cook. It should take between 5-8 minutes.

Add the vinegar and remove from heat.

Garnish with cilantro and spring onion greens.

Hot & Sour Noodle Soup

This soup tastes great without the noodles too, just thicken with a little cornstarch. Use any veggies that you like. I think chicken would work well for all you meat lovers. I use a vegetable stock concentrate mixed with water to get my vegetable stock. Rice vinegar is very mild that is why it gets added at the end. If you are using normal white vinegar add it earlier. Increase or decrease the heat as per your taste. I buy my noodles from an Asian store ( I know India is in Asia but….. ) Other ideas for toppings are green chillies in vinegar and red chilli oil. I add  hot sauce to my soup anyway !!!! Here I have garnished the soup with some deep fried wonton strips….its strictly my choice…it tastes just as great with just spring onions for garnish. I just like the crunch it provides.

