Tags

,

I go through phases where I will use one ingredient in almost all my dishes ……different uses of course….until I find a recipe that I absolutely adore and is easy to make and then I add it to my repertoire of every day dishes. These past few months peanuts are the ingredient of choice…….partly b’coz V and the kids like them and  the fact that I inadvertently ended up with a 4 lb pack of raw peanuts also factors in that !!! I came across a Gujju recipe with peppers and peanuts that appealed to me but I did not like the fact that is had a gravy…I don’t really like gravies with besan in them and so I tweaked the recipe and ended up this…..NUTTY PEPPERS. It has all the elements one requires in a weekday dish….easy to make , very few ingredients and is full of flavour. It has crunch from the peanuts, tang from lime juice and even sweetness from the peppers…..a contradiction in facts I know , but I use both sweet mini peppers and green bell peppers for this dish. I quite like the colour the mini peppers brings to this dish. The more I made this dish , the more the family liked it  and I ended up even serving it at a dinner for friends once. It has been a few months since I created this recipe and the peanuts are well on their way to getting done….but I still make this dish . For those who don’t want to slave over the stove , this recipe can be baked in the oven as well .

Nutty Peppers

NUTTY PEPPERS

2 medium Green Bell Peppers , cut into bite size chunks

2 cups Mini Peppers , cut into bite size chunks

1 small Red Onion , sliced thinly

¼ cup Peanuts, roasted

¼ cup Chick pea flour /Besan

1 tsp Red Chilli Powder

2-3 Cloves

¼ inch piece Cinnamon

1 bay leaf

Salt to taste

¼ tsp Sugar

juice of 1 Lime

In a coffee/ spice grinder, powder cloves , cinnamon and bay leaf.

Add the above powder along with the besan, salt , sugar , red chilli powder and 1-2 tbsp of water to the peppers and mix well.

Let it marinate for 15 -20 minutes.

In a pan, sauté the onions till translucent .

Then add the peppers and mix well.

Add another 2-4 tbsp of water, cover the pan and let cook for 5-8 minutes.

Meanwhile , in the same grinder, pulse the peanuts till a coarse powder is obtained.

Add this to the peppers , and sauté , uncovered, for another 2-3 minutes.

Remove from heat and add the lime juice.

Nutty peppers

The peppers should be cooked but still retain a slight crunch. It is not necessary than you use only peppers…I have made this with a mixture of vegetables and it tastes just as good. If you wish to bake it, bake in a greased pan at a high temp till almost done, then add the peanuts and pop back in the oven for 3-4 minutes.

This is off to Cooking with Seeds: Peanuts at Priya’s Versatile Recipes.

