Tags

, , ,

As all of you know by now , my kids …..lets face it my family consists of picky eaters ! V  isn’t much more adventurous than the kids , he just eats more veggies !!!! I have had to be creative with the food I make at home so that I can provide nutritious, healthy and flavourful meals. Its very hard work ……there are days when I want to tear my hair out and run for the nearest hill…..especially when I have to cook after a day when the kids have run me ragged and driven me crazy ! I have many of those days….. many think being a stay at home mom is easy when compared to going to work……don’t get me started on that topic….its a sore subject but I have days when I think going to work would be easier !!!! Anyway, to get back to topic , when I was in India last year, I picked up this book that promised results when the recipes were tried on kids. I was in a hurry and did’nt bother to read the recipes, looked at the price and when it turned out to be Rs. 50 , I just added it to the pile and checked out. Only later did I realize that the recipes , tasty and delicious though they are , were for kids who did’nt mind seeing the veggies they were eating !! That will not work in my house , so I set about recreating them for my kids. I came upon this one and liked the combo and to be honest …..the only reason I tried this one first is….I had all the ingredients !!! Anyway, I have since made it 2 ways, one…. the way it is in the book and another made for my family. This is my GAJAR AUR MOOLI KE PARATHE. Read about the other version , the one I created , later in the post. These parathas are colourful, very tasty and relatively simple to make. The sweetness of the carrots is perfectly complimented by the crisp tangy taste of the daikon radish…….for those in India, its hard for me to find the young white radishes we find in India so I use the Chinese Daikon  as a substitute . I have encountered one problem when I roll out these parathas , no matter how dry the mooli stuffing I can’t roll it without it tearing apart. So I just roll out very thin rotis and make a sandwich of sorts. I can make parathas of all kinds the traditional way, just not this one !

Gajar aur Mooli ke Parathe
2 cups Wheat Flour

¼ cup All Purpose Flour /Maida

Salt to taste

2 medium Carrots, peeled and chopped roughly

1 tsp Red Chilli powder

1 tsp Cumin powder

For the Stuffing :

4 cups grated Daikon Radish

1 small Onion , minced

1 tbsp grated Ginger

2 Green Chillies, finely chopped

2 tbsp Cilantro, finely chopped

½ Lime

Salt to taste

Cook the carrots in the microwave for 3-4 minutes till slightly soft. Cool and then puree to a paste in the processor .

Make a dough with the flours, spices, salt , a little oil ( a tbsp ) and the carrot puree in place of water. Knead lightly and set aside for 15 minutes, covered.

To make the stuffing, sprinkle salt over the grated radish and set aside for 15 -20 minutes. Then squeeze out the water thoroughly , working with small amounts at a time until all the radish is dry.

In a sauté pan, sauté the onions, chillies and ginger in a little oil.

When soft add the radish and sauté on a low heat until the stuffing is dry and the radish is cooked.

Remove off the heat , add the cilantro and juice of ½ a lime and get ready to roll the parathas.

Roll out 2 very thin rotis with the dough.

Spread the filling on one, place the other on top and flatten slightly with the rolling pin.

Cook on the tava using a little oil.

Gajar aur Mooli ke Parathe

Do not be alarmed by the amount of grated radish required…its just like spinach, after you squeeze out the water, you will have roughly 2 ½ cups of radish left. Roll the parathas in the way that is convenient to you, this works for me when I make these parathas. I would experiment with other veggies for stuffing and see what combo works for your family.

Now my kids will not eat these parathas …..lets face who can eat veggies ???? So I took a look at the recipe and removed a few ingredients , added a few that the kids like and came up with GAJAR aur MOOLI ki PURI. I, of course , made both puris and chapathis with it and it tastes great in both avatars !!! In this version, you pretty much puree every thing and then make a dough with the  flours. I added raisins to heighten the sweetness of the carrots. The colour is beautiful and the kids had seconds…..so suffice to say that this is a recipe I really like !!

Gajar aur Mooli ki Puri

2 cups Wheat flour

¼ cup All Purpose flour / Maida

Salt to taste

1 tsp Chilli powder

1 cup Carrots, chopped in cubes

½ cup Radish, cut in cubes

2 tbsp Cilantro

1 tbsp Raisins

2-3 tbsp Milk

Cook the veggies in the microwave till tender. Puree with cilantro and raisins .

To the flours, add the puree , chilli pwd and salt. Form a dough, using milk if necessary .

Rest the dough for 15 minutes and then roll into puris . Deep fry and drain on paper towels.

Gajar aur Mooli ki Puri

As I said , I made chapathis with this dough and they tasted great. I even made the dough with only carrots and they were very tasty too. You can substitute green chillies for chilli powder too. Play with it until you find the right fit for you.

