Tags

,

I’m in the middle of a plan to completely re haul my eating habits and exercise regimen in order to lose the stubborn 20 lbs that I have gained since the twins were born…….which means smaller portions and more salads. My repertoire of salads has increased dramatically. I even make salads when I cook my south Indian meals that way I eat less rice. This is one such recipe. I just put my own spin on the simple carrot salad that all the south Indians know and probably make . Its my CARROT CASHEW SLAW . You guessed it…….. I added roasted cashews and spring onions for a different flavour profile. Thats what I’m going with….its better than saying that I am so bored eating ghass-phuss that I am desperate for ways to make my salads taste better !!!! I found this book by a lady named Yamuna Devi who wrote the book about Lord Krishna’s cuisine……..anyway she had a salad in that that had carrots and cashews with a host of other ingredients. I did have all of them so I put my spin on both that one and my mom’s original version. Its simple, easy and delicious. The carrots are sweet and crunchy , the nuts provide both the fat and further crunch with heat from the chillies and acid from the lime juice with just a hint of bitterness from the mustard seeds……the flavours explode in your mouth and I loved it with my rice and rasam but I think you could serve with almost anything……in an salad platter like the Moroccan restaurants, with rotis and a subzi or eat it all by its lonesome.

Carrot Cashew Slaw

2 cups Carrots, peeled and grated

    3-4 stalks Green onions, chopped ( both white and green )
      ¼ cup roasted Cashews2 tbsp Cilantro, choppedZest and Juice of 1 Lime

1 Green Chilli, chopped

1 tsp Mustard Seeds

Salt to taste

Asafoetida, a pinch

Carrot Salad with Cashews

Mix together the grated carrots, green onions, cilantro, lime zest and cashews

    Season with lime juice and salt.
    To the oil, add the mustard seeds. When they pop, add the green chillies and asafoetida. Give a quick stir and then pour over the carrots.
    Mix well and serve .
