Tags

, ,

Malaysian Vegetable Curry with tofu

Hello everyone !!! I am very sorry for being absent so long from both the cooking and family blog. I have had some adjustment issues with the kids being off to school and their adjustment issues. Also now that I have time, I have so much to catch up on that I don’t know where to begin !!! Has anyone noticed that even though your kids are at school , you have to drop them at the school/bus stop , pick them up from said places, volunteer ( even if it is minimal ) , help them with home work, chauffeur them to the play dates and various classes !!! Now how does this make me less busy exactly ???????

Anyway, to get back to cooking….don’t assume that all this has stopped me from cooking up a storm. I have and I am glad to say that I am being to expand my repertoire even more. My latest craze is researching authentic Asian cuisine. I have unearthed some pretty interesting recipes and can’t wait to try them all out. This is one of them. A very simple recipe, it has been adapted from a Malaysian Fish Curry. This is one of those dishes that is so simple you keep it in your repertoire of everyday dishes. This is my MALAYSIAN VEGETABLE CURRY WITH TOFU. I have to apologize for the pictures as I did not think of the pictures when I made it and so did not bother with the colour of the dish. It does look rather yellow does’nt it ….well make sure you balance your colours !!!!

This recipe does contain more than 5-6 ingredients but the process is simple so do not be put of by the list. Also I would suggest that you make the effort to find the ingredients for an authentic taste. I paired it with a simple rice cooked with onions, ginger and garlic. While I was making it , I was watching Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations and they were in Indonesia so I entertained myself with the images from that part of the world . There is only one Malaysian restaurant near me and its not very great so this is my way of getting my fix. Does any one know how to make roti canai ??? If some one does can you forward the recipe to me ???

 

MALAYSIAN VEGETABLE CURRY WITH TOFU

             1 slab Tofu, cut into cubes

¼ cup sliced Red Onions½ cup chopped Green Peppers

½ cup chopped Carrots

½ cup Cauliflower florets

¼ cup chopped Spring Onions

1 (14 oz ) can Coconut Milk , unsweetened

Salt and Pepper to taste

paste: 2 Green Chillies

1 dried Red Chilli

½ cup Shallots

1 tbsp Ginger

1 tbsp Galangal

1 tbsp Lemongrass, finely chopped

2 tbsp Almonds , blanched

2 tbsp Tamarind pulp

Blend together the ingredients for the paste along with a few tbsp of coconut milk , salt and pepper.

Blanch the vegetables till ½ cooked. Set aside.Heat a pan and add just enough oil to lightly coat the bottom.

Pan fry the tofu till crisp on both sides. Drain and set aside

To the same oil, add the paste. Cook till the oil separates.

Then add the coconut milk . Simmer and reduce by half.

Now add the vegetables and cook on a low – medium heat till it starts to bubble.

Now add the tofu and mix well . Sauté for 1-2 minutes.

Remove from the heat, garnish with spring onions and serve over rice.

 

Malaysian Vegetable Curry with Tofu

Taste Test

As soon as I took my first bite I was transported to this Malaysian restaurant that I had been to in Philly. It was so good ! It had a hint of heat from the chillies , tang from the tamarind and sweetness from the coconut milk. The vegetables still had a bite to them , exactly the way I like it and the tofu was crisp. All in all , I enjoyed it very much and can’t wait to make it again. I would make just a couple of changes though. In my opinion , there was too much coconut milk so I would add a little less and maybe some vegetable stock. Also the recipe asked for a fried onion garnish which I omitted as I was too lazy, I might put it on the rice next time. As I said this was originally intended for fish but I was told that chicken would be good in it too !

