Tags

, ,

Tandoori Gobi

3rd post in a week, I am on a roll !!! Lets see how long it lasts !! I have recently added my blog to facebook . I feel like a bona fide blogger now rather than someone just preserving her recipes !!! Also to be very honest, I never knew if anyone was actually reading my blog with the exception of 3 people !! I put it on facebook once and I got more responses than I have in a long time !!!! It looks like facebook is more popular than email !!!! One of these days I will go public and let the whole world in rather than just my friends and family but I am not ready yet.

I always have people asking me how I manage to cook hot meals every day with the kids running around. Well……I have picky eaters so its not like I have a choice or anything !!! But …I also make sure to have plenty of recipes that are either very easy or require no fiddling or that are both ! This is one such recipe. I took 2 recipes that I had and created this one…… TANDOORI GOBI. Do not be put off by the long list of ingredients. Its one of those recipes that you mix together and put it in the oven , turn on the timer or not and forget about it till its done. I love it b’coz I love cauliflower. Now not many like it…..lets just say it produces …….unwanted air. I too do not like producing unwanted air. I maybe married for 11 years but one still has to retain a certain mystery about oneself !!!! I solve this problem by making sure that I add Hing/Asafoetida to any dish that I use cauliflower in !

What is asafoetida you ask ??? Its a pungent powder that one finds in small bottles in Indian/Asian/Middle Eastern stores. Once cooked , this powder takes on a mellow flavour that is sort of a cross between onions, leeks and garlic. In India and Thailand it is used to aid in digestion and flatulence. It is a dried resin gum that has been ground with a little rice powder. Therein ends my discourse on the subject. This dish is basically cauliflower marinated in a yogurt based marinade and the baked in the oven till tender and then served on a bed of onions and peppers. It makes a great wrap but I just serve it with rotis.

Tandoori Gobi

TANDOORI GOBI

             3 cups Cauliflower cut in florets

1 cup Greek Yogurt1 tbsp Kasoori Methi ( fenugreek leaves )

1 tbsp Chickpea flour ( besan)

3 tbsp Oil

1 tbsp Ginger-Garlic paste

1 tsp Chilli powder

½ tsp Turmeric powder

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

½ tsp Black Salt

1 tsp Tandoori Masala

juice of 1 Lime

½ cup sliced Onions

½ cup sliced Peppers ( any colour)

    For the marinade , mix together the yogurt , kasoori methi, ginger-garlic paste, 1 tbsp oil, chilli powder, turmeric, salt , black salt , tandoori masala and the chickpea flour. Marinate the cauliflower in it for 20 minutes.Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 400 F.

    Use 1 tbsp oil to grease a baking sheet. Spread the cauliflower in a single layer and bake for 15-20 minutes. The florets should be cooked yet still crunchy.

    In a pan, heat the remaining 1 tbsp of oil and sauté the onions and peppers till soft but crunchy. Season with salt and pepper.

    Spread the onions and peppers in a serving dish and then pile the cauliflower on top.

    Squeeze the lime over the top and serve.

    Tandoori Gobi

    Taste Test

    As I said earlier, I love cauliflower in all the forms that it takes on my house !! This one is no exception. The crunch of the florets with the onions and peppers……..I use red onions which when cooked take on a sweetness …ummm! The chickpea flour imparts a nuttiness while the yogurt, the black salt and lime juice give it a tang. The kasoori methi gives it just that touch of bitterness. All in all , it is one tasty dish.

    I used Greek yogurt, if you do not have it just hang normal yogurt in a muslin cloth till the water separates and leaves you with thick solids. If you do not have kasoori methi you can just omit it. The same goes for black salt. For those who do not know, black salt is just normal salt with impurities in it that gives it a grey- purplish colour. If you are not accustomed to eating Indian chaat, you will not like the smell so I would suggest you check it out before buying it ! As I said earlier, these make great wraps..just warm a tortilla , add some shredded lettuce, some of the onions and peppers and then layer the cauliflower. I would drizzle a little bit of yogurt marinade without the chickpea flour or mayo to make it a little moist. It tastes great.

