Tags

,

Festive Mango Bread

Every time summer rolls around I look forward to a couple of things……the pool, our vacation to the beach , the time with the kids and mangoes !!! Of course its not like in India where I had umpteen varieties of mangoes to choose from but I still manage to find some that taste good and proceed to enjoy myself……juices dripping down my chin and unlike everyone else I never fought for the seed .I have to be honest and say it never tastes the same….I am sure its a childhood thing rather than a taste difference. Everything always tastes better when you are an innocent child !!!!

Every time I go to India I make it a point to eat things that I don’t find here…….guavas and mangoes being only 2 of the things that I enjoy there. Mangoes because of the variety and guavas as they are insanely expensive here !!! The last trip we took to India, we found ourselves in a mango orchard and ended up with a sack full of mangoes of all shapes , sizes and varieties. N even ended up with one as big as his head !!!!

This year there was a point when I found myself with too many mangoes and did’nt know what to do with them before they got spoilt. I had tried making mango bread before but it never turned out right. Again Internet to the rescue….on a side note has any one ever realized how dependent we are on these machines….what if the scenarios played out in terminator and the matrix come true ??!!! To back on topic..I found a recipe for a mango bread that is full of coconut, ginger , raisins and even chopped dried mangoes. It sounded so delicious I had to try it immediately.

I have had many people ask me what is the easiest way to chop a mango. It is not hard to do. Hold the mango upright and cut down the sides close to the seed. The seed runs the entire length. You will end up with 2 pieces full of flesh. I then proceed to cut thin slices of the mango until all I’m left with is the seed and a little flesh covering it. That is for V’s eating pleasure. Take the 2 halves, hold it in your palm and score it first lengthwise and then across the breadth. Then pull the edges until it is turned inside out. After that just take the knife and cut close to the skin……..cubes of firm yet juicy yellow mango will fall on the board ready to be used any way you want !!!

FESTIVE MANGO BREAD

1 ½ cups Ripe Mango , chopped½ cup dried Mango, chopped

¾ cup sweetened Coconut

3 Eggs

¾ cup Oil

2 ½ cups Whole Wheat Flour

1 cup pure Cane Sugar

1 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 ½ tsp Ginger Paste

¼ tsp Salt

½ cup light Brown Sugar

zest of 1 Lime

¼ cup Raisins

    Pre heat the oven to 350 F.

    Cream the eggs and sugars together till it is well blended and turns cream in colour.Then add the oil, ginger paste and lime zest .

    Sift together the flour with the salt, baking powder and baking soda.

    Add 1/3 of the flour mixture to the wet ingredients. Fold it in.

    Add ½ of the mangoes, raisins and coconut. Fold it in .

    Add 1/3 of the flour mixture and fold in.

    Now add the rest of the fruits and coconut.

    Repeat with the last 1/3 of the flour mixture. Do not beat the mixture, gently fold it in.

    Pour into 2 greased Loaf tins and bake for 20-25 minutes until a skewer comes out clean.

    Festive Mango Bread

    Taste Test

    This is one tasty bread. The ginger provides some heat to balance out all the sweetness. The dried raisins and mangoes provides a textural contrast while the coconut provides both crunch and added sweetness.

    Lets face it not many of us can resist freshly baked bread of any sort but this bread tastes great the next day too. The fruit and the spice flavours intensifies…..just thinking about it makes my mouth water !!!! It is great for breakfast as one think slice provides you with enough energy to last till lunch but it is a great snack especially with coffee !!

