Tags

, ,

Mocha Marble Chocolate Chip Cookies

Growing up, my mom did not bake cookies or cakes ….primarily b’coz we did not have an oven. While playing pretend I would always be the one having tea with fresh baked “ biscuits “ as they are called in England and India. I am avid reader and it was no different in my childhood ! My favourites at that age was this series of books called “ the Mallory Towers and “ St Clare’s “ .There was also the Secret Seven and the Adventures of a family whose best friend happened to be a prince of an African nation…I don’t remember the name, but I digress…….baking has always fascinated and scared me !!! I was always under the impression that only certain people can bake and not everyone can do it. Yes, to a certain extent that statement is true but only if you were planning to become a baker and open your own business. I think using a few simple recipes I can certainly bake goodies for my family to enjoy !!!

I started baking out of desperation………the kids are going thru a growth spurt and are eating me out of house and home. So I had to come with a solution to provide wholesome goodies for them to enjoy. I began browsing thru books for recipes of cookies that did not have a ton of sugar in them …I had already substituted chips with baked ones and my kids eat a whole lot of popcorn and fruits !!!! I found this book that had tons of cookie recipes all of which provided options……wheat flour for all purpose, raw sugar for white sugar and so on. I remember I was noting down all the recipes with such intensity that V wondered if I had ever done my homework the same way !!!!

This particular recipe is a little more sophisticated than usual chocolate chip cookies and has a little coffee in it but since the amount for 24 cookies is so small it’s fine for kids. I happen to love both coffee and chocolate so does V so it was a hit in the whole family………..the kids love chocolate chip cookies of any form !!!!

MOCHA MARBLE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

             1 tbsp Espresso Powder

1 stick Butter, room temperature½ cup Brown Sugar

¼ cup Sugar

½ tsp Salt

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Egg

1 cup + 2 tbsp All purpose Flour

½ tsp Baking Soda

2 ½ tbsp Cocoa

1 1/3 cup Walnuts, chopped

1 cup White Chocolate Chunks

Pre heat the oven to 375 F.

Dissolve the espresso in ½ tsp hot water. Set aside.Cream together the butter with the sugars until the sugars are dissolved.

Add the vanilla extract, egg and coffee. Beat till well incorporated.

Sift together the flour with the salt and baking soda.

Fold in the flour to the wet mixture in 3 batches. Do not over mix.

Divide into two. Mix the cocoa into one batch and fold till combined.

Divide the nuts and chocolate chips equally among both. Mix them into the dough.

Taking a small piece from both the doughs, roll them together to form a ball a little smaller than a golf ball.

Place on a parchment lined tray and bake for 10-12 minutes.

Remove at once and cool on a rack.

 

Mocha Marble Chocolate Chip Cookies

Taste Test

This has to be one of the best cookies I have tasted. It was’nt overly sweet and had a slight crumble just the way I like it. I am not fond of crumbly cookies just enough !!! The coffee did not overpower the chocolate and instead the flavours balanced each other. Since my kids do not like nuts, I used semisweet chocolate chips instead. I also do not like milk with my cookies so I had them with coffee instead……a great pick me up in the afternoon. Maybe I should make them again in the near future , it has been quite a while !!!!

Now I used ½ cup wheat flour and the rest was all purpose flour. It did not make too much of a difference in flavour. I also used raw sugar instead of white. Now once the cookies have come out of the oven, they have to be slightly soft …..they will acquire the nice crumbly texture as they cool. I hope you guys will enjoy this cookie as much as I did.

