Tags

, ,

Palak aur Matar ki Puri

When I was in high school, as I have told you all before, we lived in Kerala. We had the best neighbours….Aunty B ,Uncle S and their kids, a boy and girl V & V. Now you all know where I got my fondness for alliteration in my kids names !!! Anyway, we once attended a wedding in their family. Now they are originally from Gujarat but have lived in Kerala for many years now. We travelled an hour or so to another city called Allepy or Allapuzha as it is known now. When it was time for the food to come out….I was struck by one dish in particular ……..there were puris in so many colours…red, green and the normal beige. I was so impressed by the taste that it stuck with me. Later as my culinary interests grew and I began to research more on the cuisines of the different states , I discovered numerous recipes for these puris. It is now a good thing that I collected those recipes as my kids will eat breads in different colours but will not eat vegetables in their true form !!!!

I have always maintained that to create simple food with few ingredients but with complex flavours…. is very hard. Its easy to go overboard with the spices and herbs !!!! This is one such dish that has only a few ingredients but if made correctly, results in pronounced flavours balancing each other . I use many veggie purees in my breads but this is the first one I made and as they say……….its an oldie but a goodie !!!!


PALAK AUR MATAR KI PURI

2 cups Whole Wheat Flour

½ cup All Purpose Flour

½ cup Green Peas

½ cup chopped Spinach

2-3 Green Chillies

2 tbsp Yogurt

juice of ½ Lime

1 tsp Cumin Powder

1 tbsp Ghee/Oil

Salt to taste

In a blender, puree the peas, spinach , green chillies and lime juice till you get a fine paste. Use as little water as possible.

In a mixing bowl, mix together the 2 flours, cumin powder and salt.

Now add the paste, ghee or oil and yogurt. Mix together to form a dough.

Knead for a few minutes. Set aside. Cover and rest the dough for 15 – 20 minutes.

Pull out pieces of the dough, roll into balls a little smaller than a golf ball.

Roll into a circle with a diameter of 2 inches or so.

Deep fry in hot oil. Drain and serve.

Palak aur Matar ki Puri

Taste Test

What can I say about something so simple ??? It is crisp on the outside but the yogurt and ghee/oil make it very soft so that when  you bite into it, it melts in your mouth. It is so addictive that you will find yourself eating more than you should !!! The fresh spinach and green peas impart a sweetness which along with the heat from the chillies and smoke from the cumin make for delicious eating. The yogurt and lime juice give it a slight tang that cuts through the sweetness. The kids love it requesting for the “ green puris “ whenever possible !!!!

