Tags

,

I was just going through the recipes that I have posted on my blog and I realized that I have not posted the numerous potato recipes that I have collected and made these past years. I love cooking with potatoes…….well who does not love them. They are so delicious no matter how you cook them . I prefer red potatoes as I find them less starchy than the others. I however use Russetts for my Indianized French Fries and if I find them I love the fingerling potato mix …you have all the different kinds and they taste great roasted. Yeah………I love potatoes !!

I don’t remember how old I was when I first started cooking………maybe 10. What I do remember is that first dish was a potato dish……..diced potatoes sauteed with onions and spices. I still make it and it tastes just as good as the first time. My go to meal when I am out of ideas for dinner ………well you guessed it , it involves potatoes…..in fact I always end up making Rice, Vatral Kozhumbu and Potato curry. For those who have no clue what those are……its a soupy concoction made with tamarind pulp, spices, dried lentil balls……I salivate just thinking about it. My description just does not do it justice, but trust me on this it’s delicious. Potato curry involves diced cooked potatoes sauteed in spices both whole and powders. I guess I love them so much b’coz they are the comfort meals of my childhood……..I love the way my mom cooks these two.

After that walk down memory lane, I am pretty sure you think either one of those dishes are the feature of this post …….nope, its a whole another dish. I found this recipe in one of the books I purchased randomly hoping I would find some good recipes in them……of course the fact that it was on sale for $ 3 also factored majorly !!!! It started its life as chicken recipe but I converted it to potatoes b’coz the sauce intrigued me and I wanted to try it without converting to eating meat. I don’t know but eating meat just does not agree with me……I guess after all these years my system can’t take it. Anyway, back to the topic on hand, the sauce features mango chutney which is not a typical ingredient used in Indian curries . We use it as condiment and lets face it …..it’s more popular in the UK than in India !!!! I made a couple of changes and I loved it. In fact my dad, a man of few words, ate seconds and made a point of telling me that he really liked it. I think I treasure that compliment more than any others I have received !!


SWEET AND SOUR BALTI POTATOES

3 tbsp Tomato paste

½ cup plain Greek Yogurt

1 tsp Garam Masala

2 cloves Garlic, peeled and crushed

1 in piece of Ginger, peeled and chopped

1-2 Green Chillies

2 tbsp mango Chutney ( I use Pataks )

Salt to taste

½ tsp Chilli powder

½ cup chopped Red Onions

1 ½ lb. Baby Potatoes

½ cup cubed Bell Peppers ( I prefer red )

2/3 cup water

2 tbsp Cilantro , chopped

2 tbsp Cream or Half & Half


Cook the potatoes till almost done. Peel and set aside.

In a food processor , blend the mango chutney, crushed garlic, green chillies and ginger till smooth.

Add yogurt, tomato paste, chilli powder, garam masala , salt and sugar. Mix well.

Saute the onions in oil till they are translucent.

Add the bell peppers and stir. Now add the tomato-mango mixture and mix well.

Add the water and bring it to a boil. Then simmer on low heat till the sauce reduces and the oil rises to the top. Stir occasionally.

Now add the potatoes and cream. Simmer ,on low, for 2-3 minutes.

Remove from heat and garnish with cilantro before serving.

Taste Test

I am very glad that I went with my gut and tried this recipe out. The sauce is rich and creamy . The mango chutney adds both a sweetness and sour note to the sauce. It also adds an exotic note to an otherwise regular sauce. The ginger provides an earthy heat while the green chillies that adds a touch of spice and heat that cuts through the richness of the sauce.The tomatoes and yogurt also and tang. The potatoes provide the perfect foil for the sauce.I have eaten it with both bread and rice . It tastes delicious with both…….but beware this dish is addictive. As I said earlier this dish began its origins as a chicken dish. In the original, cubed chicken was cooked in the sauce until done and then the cream was added. The original also had chopped green chillies as garnish and none in the sauce. Follow whichever method that suits your fancy.

A small note about Balti Curries……they trace their origins to Gilgit-Baltistan or Pakistan occupied Kashmir in the northern parts of Pakistan and India. These are aromatic curries with very little heat . Bread is traditionally used to scoop them up but I have served them with rice and they taste great together.

