Tags

,

The weather here is driving me crazy. Picture this people, winter in the early mornings, fall during the morning, summer in the afternoon and fall in the evenings !!!! Thats our weather, 35 at 7:00 am, 45 at 10:00 am, 75 at 2:00 pm and 45-50 at 5:00 pm. How is a person supposed to adjust ???? I mean there is almost a 30 degree difference between morning and afternoon. N goes to school wearing a jacket and gets off the bus wishing he was in shorts !!! Its ridiculous !! Anyway, I find myself making sandwiches, salads and soups all in the same day !!!!

In the summer, we drove to Toronto, yes drove and spent a few days with my sis S, her hubby N and the sweetest nephew ever A……yes his name also starts with A . My other nephew’s ( on V’s side ) name also starts with an “A” !!! Leftover India syndrome I guess…..there the kids are in the order of their first names not last !!! While we were there, S & N ……sounds kinky….well they took us out to a lot of places and all of them had one thing in common…..awesome food !!! Toronto is such a foodie’s town !! Much like New York, cuisines from all over the world are available there and easily found. I was in heaven and very much regretted the fact that I had changed my diet …’coz I really wanted to throw caution to the wind and eat like a pig and until my shorts could not zip up anymore !!!

I did end up tasting everything and controlling my portions but it was hard believe me. I have many dishes that I want to recreate here in my kitchen but for now I am just going to concentrate on this wrap that I ate in Stratford, Ontario ……everyone who knows Shakespeare knows Stratford upon Avon , well Stratford is its rather picturesque sister city here in North America. Apparently this city is also known for its shopping and restaurants …..my 2 favorite things !! I did not indulge in much shopping , we just visited the oldest toy store in canada but we did indulge in some awesome food. We ate lunch at Fellini’s , a Mediterranean restaurant though it did tout itself as an italian grill, it had food from all over the Mediterranean ! My littlest one A and N’s mom had Minestrone soup….very good, while the other three As had pasta and tomato sauce….the usual , N had manicotti……awesome but I felt the calories piling on while I was just watching him eat !! S, V and I had sandwiches …..they had grilled veggie, seriously good while I had the Moroccan Carrot wrap. It was so good, ridiculously easy but delicious !!!

MOROCCAN CARROT WRAP

2 ½ cups peeled and shredded Carrots

¼ cup finely chopped Red Onions

¼ cup dried Apricots, chopped

¼ cup roasted Red Peppers, chopped

1 tbsp chopped Parsley ( use Cilantro if you don’t any )

1 tbsp chopped Mint

1 stalk Spring Onion, finely chopped

2-3 tbsp slivered Almonds

3 tbsp Mayonnaise

3 tbsp Greek Yogurt

1-2 tsp Harissa

Salt to taste

3 small Pitas with pockets

Sauté the onions and carrots in oil till the carrots soften slightly but are still crunchy.

Once the carrots are slightly cool, mix in the other ingredients.

Cut the pitas in half and gently open the pockets.

Stuff the pockets rather generously and serve with any side.


Moroccan Carrot Wrap

Imagine if you will, shredded sweet carrot with tart , sweet apricots, crunchy red onions, roasted red peppers, parsley all bound in a hot Harissa based silky mayonnaise in a pita……..sounds good doesn’t it ??? I made these soon as I came back home. I even used the leftovers with a veggie burger another day. Its pretty easy to make too…….I used store bought Harissa, which was my addition by the way as I needed more heat !!! If you are lazy , you can buy shredded carrots from the stores. I did make it a little lighter by first using olive oil mayo and then by cutting it in half and using greek yogurt as a substitute. V is not fond of mayonnaise so this way everyone is happy !! If carrots are not your thing, you can certainly use any other veggie . The restaurant did not stuff the pita , rather they rolled the pita around the stuffing and used toothpicks to hold it in place. That to me is a lot of work !! Pick your poison. 

