Tags

, ,

Sweet and Sour Tofu with veggies

I know its been a long time since I have blogged about anything……..I have discovered that I have an obsessive personality !!! When I embark on a project , I become obsessed with it to the exclusion of everything else. In the beginning of the year, I decided that I was going to lose 50 pounds ….why you ask, a couple of reasons, one to get healthy of course and a another very personal reason is I want my daughter to look at me…. a healthy and positive role model ! Anyway, I started exercising, eating right, training , weighing food, measuring calories and now I am so absorbed that finding time for anything other housework and the kids is hard for me. Also V and I changed our diet so much that I had a fear that the blog would become one of those eating right ones !!! Not that there is anything wrong with them but its not my vision !!!!

Anyway, my trainer T had me write down what I ate, along with calories , for a whole week……..it opens your eyes for sure even if you think you are eating right and in the right portions !!!! We reached one conclusion at the end of the experiment….my breakfast eating habits are extremely poor and I need more protein so I began to think of ways to include various vegetarian options for protein. Beans started making their appearance more regularly and so did tofu. I generally don’t make too many stir fries as V is not a fan of crunchy , half cooked veggies…….he likes his fully cooked but I like them crunchy !!! So I came with a solution…..cook the veggies in the microwave first and then stir fry. Somehow cooking them in the microwave keeps them crunchy but also cooks them thoroughly !!! I would explain the phenomenon if I knew how it worked !!! Another thing to research pile !!!

V is not very fond of tofu either…….I know what you’re thinking…..how do I manage to cook and write a blog with all these restrictions !!! I think thats why I started the blog …to share with others in my situation . I love sweet and sour anything so I decided to make a sweet and sour tofu with all the veggies I could lay my hands on. I marinate the tofu , make a sauce and then throw everything together just before serving. I generally serve it with brown rice but you can serve it with whatever you prefer. I once made a pasta with just the veggies and the sauce and let me tell you ………it was awesome !!!!

SWEET AND SOUR TOFU STIR FRY

1 ½ cups Tofu cut in cubes

2 Garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp grated Ginger

1 tbsp Soy Sauce

1 tsp Sriracha Sauce

1 -2 tbsp Cornstarch

2 tbsp Oil

2 Garlic cloves, minced

1 medium Red Onion, cut into 1 inch chunks

1 small Carrot cut on the diagonal into ¼ inch slices

1 small Green Pepper, cut into 1 inch chunks

1 small Red Pepper , cut into 1 inch chunks

2 large Tomatoes, cut into 8 wedges

¼ fresh Pineapple cut into 1 inch chunks

2 stalks Green Onions, cut into 2 inch lengths

1 tbsp finely chopped Cilantro

sauce:

¼ cup unsweetened Pineapple juice

2 tbsp Soy Sauce

¼ cup white Vinegar

1 tbsp Ketchup

½ tsp Sriracha Sauce

2 tbsp Sugar

½ Salt

2 tsp Cornstarch

1 tbsp grated Ginger

Marinate the tofu in garlic, ginger, soy sauce and sriracha  for 30 minutes. Then coat with cornstarch and pan fry. Drain and set aside.

Combine all the ingredients for the sauce and set aside.

In oil, sauté the garlic and onions. Add the veggies and sauté for 2 minutes.

Then add the pineapple, tomatoes and scallions. Sauté for 2 minutes. Remove veggies.

Add the sauce. Simmer for 2 minutes. Add the tofu and veggies and mix till well glazed.

Garnish with pepper and cilantro.

Sweet and Sour Tofu Stir Fry

Just a couple of pointers ………I use canned pineapple unless pineapple is in season. I also only buy pineapple in juice and not syrup. If you have fresh pineapple, go for it !! Also I cooked the veggies in microwave for 2-3 minutes , which is why I only sauté the veggies for 2 minutes …if you omit the microwave then sauté for another 2 minutes. In order for the veggies to be crunchy , you have to remove them before you simmer the sauce .

I love this stir fry even though I don’t make it often…..rice you see. I have reduced my carb intake to just a ¼th of what I used to eat and now do not eat rice for dinner . The veggies are crisp, tofu has a lot of flavour from the marinade all encased in a sauce in a sweet sauce with tang from vinegar and slight heat from Sriracha………just sublime !!!!



