Tags

,

I think all my friends know that while I love cooking savoury foods, I am not remotely good at baking anything sweet. I think its more an intimidation factor than skill !!! I have to be precise which for me is hard…….lets face it , the recipes in the early months of my blog did not even contain measurements !!!! It was fine till the kids grew up. They wanted cookies and cakes ……for a while it was fine to buy them from the store but later the kids became bored with the choices. Like they say in the movie “ The Devil wears Prada ‘…….I girded my loins and ventured into baking. I have had modest successes and have reached the point that during play dates , some of the children actually request my cookies !!!

This is one of the cookies that the kids really like……well truly whats not like ??? There are 3….yes , you heard it right, 3 kinds of chocolate in these chocolate chip cookies !!!!! Even though, white chocolate is not technically considered a chocolate, I do !!! Did I ever mention that I love chocolate ??? Chocolate in all its forms, shapes and tasty glory !!! Death by chocolate is one of my favourite books !! This is my TRIPLE CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE. I love to eat warm ooey gooey cookies . Its funny considering that when I was growing up in India, chocolate chip cookies were not available in fact fresh baked cookies were not easily available !!! This one is delicious…….two kinds of chocolate chips….their sweetness contrasting perfectly with the slightly bitter notes of cocoa. I used a vanilla bean instead of extract and bean or extract…that just adds a hint of spice and floral aroma which enhances the cookies. I also use brown sugar instead of regular white sugar which gives it more of a sweeter , richer taste. Yes this is a glamourous chocolate chip cookie which will please everyone…..kids or adults !!!!

TRIPLE CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE

1 stick Unsalted Butter, at room temperature

¾ cup Light Brown Sugar

¼ tsp Salt

1 tsp Vanilla Essence

1/3 cup Natural Cocoa

1 Egg

1 cup All purpose Flour

½ tsp Baking Soda

1 cup Semisweet Chocolate Morsels

1 cup White Chocolate Morsels

Pre heat the oven to 350 F.

Cream together the butter and sugar till smooth.

Add the vanilla and mix well.

Add the egg and beat with a whisk till thoroughly combined.

Sift the flour, salt , baking soda and cocoa.

Add the flour mixture to the wet mixture and mix well.

Add the chocolate morsels and mix well.

Roll in balls and place on a lined tray.

Bake for 6-7 minutes and then cool on a wire rack.

As I said earlier, I love to eat this cookie warm and so do the kids……..the chocolate morsels ooze slightly and the cookies are slightly soft. Heaven in a bite !!!! The original recipe called for white sugar which I substituted brown sugar as I prefer baking with it. Brown sugar is just white sugar with molasses in it. It has a slightly lesser caloric value as it contains water. I like the richer taste !!! I also substituted vanilla essence with the seeds from a vanilla pod …..lets face it there are awesome extracts around and I use them all the time , I just used vanilla seeds because I did not have essence and I had vanilla pods !!! Also the original used 1 cup semisweet chocolate morsels and 1 cup nuts, but my kids do not like nuts in their cookies so I came up with white chocolate as a substitute.

Did you know that the first chocolate chip cookie was created by Ruth Wakefield who owned the Toll House Inn in Massachusetts in 1930. Hence the name Toll House Cookies. She sold the rights to the cookie, to Nestle for a lifetime supply of chocolate chips…….I probably would have gone with money but thats just me !!! The cookie has been around for a long time and is still a classic American cookie. There are many stories about its origin but the one I like best is the one from one of the chefs from the Inn. It was created by mistake when the bars of chocolate stored above the mixer fell in and were broken up by the mixer into morsels. Instead of wasting such a large batch , they decided to go ahead and bake them as is and the rest as they say is history !!!!

People here love to eat their cookies with milk but I never have been a fan of cookies and milk ….I prefer coffee …….I love caffeine !! Milk, coffee, water or as is……..these cookies are fantastic !!!

