Tags

WaterMelon Fizz

Its been a few months since I have written anything…..well I have perfectly valid excuses !!! We sold our old house, found and moved into a new house and in between all this we even went to India !!!! Yes, I am very tired and frankly if I see another moving box with stuff to unpack I will scream !!!!!

I had a lot of fun in India….did not go overboard and eat everything in sight but actually made the effort to eat things that I have not eaten before with the exception of chaat !!!! I cannot give up my gadiwala who has made the same awesome tasting chaat for the past 16 years !!!! Saw new sights and spent a lot of time with family so all in all it was worth the effort. The only obstacle is that we went to India in the peak of summer there though the last 2 weeks were good , and then came back to summer here !!! I am having one very long summer indeed !!!

The kids drank so much fresh fruit juice in India that they are demanding the same here and I have to say , other than a tall glass of ice cold water, fruit juice ice cold does sound good !!! Of course ask the kids they’ll say ice cold soda tastes even better !!!! I disagree and this has led to many an argument ending with them walking off to sulk !! I was watching food network…..this is a long time ago probably last year when I saw someone I think Giada de Laurentis , I could be wrong and it might have been Ina Garten……the point if one of them made a Strawberry Peach Soda…just your basic fruit puree slightly sweetened , topped with seltzer water or plain soda . I made that recipe and it tasted awesome. So the other day , when they asked me for a drink I decided to make them the drink only I did not have frozen strawberries or peaches !!! I did have a watermelon….the twins love it and last summer when we were at the Coke museum , the kids had tasted a watermelon soda and they had liked it !!! So the light bulb went off and I decided why not ??????

I ended up making two versions of the watermelon puree…..one with just sugar for the kids and another with lime zest and juice for V and myself !! I liked both but I have to say the one with lime was my favourite. It had just the right amount of sweetness from the sugar and a hint of acid from the lime to balance it. The fizz from the seltzer water provided the fun required to beat a hot day !!!! Definitely one recipe to keep and make again and again .

 

WATERMELON FIZZ

 

2 cups water

1 cup Sugar

2 cups cubed seedless Watermelon

¼ cup Lime Juice

½ tsp Lime zest

1 cup Sparkling Water or Plain Soda

Ice Cubes

 

In a small saucepan, bring the water and sugar to a boil. Keep stirring over medium heat until all the sugar has dissolved. Set aside and cool for about 20 minutes.

In a blender, combine all the ingredients except ice and sparkling water.

Blend till smooth.

Just before serving, add chilled sparkling water and serve over ice.

 

Watermelon Fizz

The kids and I loved it. They are not fans of watermelon juice but served as a soda they liked it. I did fib that I had added sprite….!!! It made a great heat buster and after a day in the sun , it feels great !!!!!

I will be back with more recipes inspired from stuff that I had in India and Dubai. I can’t wait ……..oh well I have to until I have unpacked everything and am actually ready !!!!! Wish me luck !

