Tags

, ,

Chocolate Orange Blossoms

Another year, another Christmas party at school . As I have told you guys , I am the room mom at the twins school, which basically means that I am in charge of the parties along with my partner in crime, J. We decided very early on that she would be in charge of communication and games while I did all the food. She has been awesome about that and I find that giving ideas is my forte but actually executing them …….well,I still think I got the better end of that bargain !!!!

Its seems like of late all my posts have been about baked goods, cupcakes, cake pops and now cookies !!! It just happened that way I assure you. I have been cooking savory stuff but they never seem to have made it here!!! This year, my sis S , bro in law N and my nephew A, yes his name also begins with A, are here for the holidays and I decided to take him with me to th christmas party at the twins school. He loves to bake and will measure out the ingredients for the “recipes ‘. I swear he is so cute I could eat him up !!!! Anyway this time no one was allowed to help……..imagine 4 of them fighting to measure and mix…I shudder to think of the clean up !!!!!!

I make these cookies called blossoms….well b’coz they look like flowers !!! All the kids , adults too, who have tasted them have loved them so I figured that they would be perfect for a party for little ones . I love the combination of orange and chocolate …..lets face it, I am on a chocolate orange kick as evidenced by my previous post !!!! So I added orange to the chocolate blossom recipe and came up with CHOCOLATE ORANGE BLOSSOMS .

These are super easy to make and you can freeze the dough so you have fresh baked ooeey gooey cookies full of chocolate goodness at a moments notice …..well 10 minutes notice anyway !!!!

CHOCOLATE ORANGE BLOSSOMS

 

½ cup Granulated Sugar

½ cup tightly packed Light Brown Sugar

¼ cup Cocoa

1 cup Butter, melted

2 tbsp Orange Zest

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Egg

1 ¾ cups All Purpose Flour

1 tsp Baking Soda

½ tsp Salt

Granulated Sugar, for rolling in

1 bag Hershey’s Kisses

 

 Pre heat the oven to 375 F.

Sift the flour, baking soda and salt and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, add the sugars, cocoa and butter. Beat till light and fluffy.

Add the orange zest, vanilla extract and egg. Beat lightly till well blended.

Add the dry ingredients. Once well blended, roll into a loose ball, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for an hour.

Form balls and then roll them in sugar.

Place on a baking tray and bake for 10- 12 minutes.

Remove and immediately press a kiss on the cookie , pushing it halfway in.

Cool on a cooling rack and serve at room temperature.

Chocolate Orange Blossoms

I love these cookies, they are crunchy on the outside with a soft inside and bonus ….have a ooeey gooey chocolate candy centre !!!! There is a hint of citrusy freshness and a slight bite from the orange zest that cuts the richness of the chocolate. The crunch comes the sugar the cookies are rolled in prior to baking. I would use raw sugar which has bigger crystals than the superfine table sugar. 

These are cookies that have to be eaten at room temperature. If they are cool , reheat them in 350 F oven for a minute or so and the eat them. The candy has to be soft for the cookie to be at its best !!!

My nephew A, is not a fan of soft cookies but he certainly enjoyed the candy centre !!! My bro in law would’ve polished off a whole tray if I had let him. Yes, they are that good. My friend R, has twin girls L & P, who are good friends of my twins…well they request these cookies all the time !!!

I have seen these cookies in all sorts of flavors, the most common one being peanut butter blossoms. No one in my family is a huge fan of peanut butter so I passed on those. I have seen a white chocolate one that seems interesting but thats a recipe for another day !!!

