Tags

,

Semiya Bondas ( Vermicelli Fritters )

Ever since we moved , I have been making friends…..somehow this time it seems easier than when we moved last time !!! I have a theory about that you see……when you have kids, you go out more and meet more people. You also organize more play dates with other kids…..and during those play dates you meet the parents. I also volunteer at their schools and meet other moms. I have met some extremely nice women during this past year !!! Yes, its been a year since we’ve moved…..how fast time goes by !!!!!

Anyway, during one of the volunteer sessions at N’s school, I met his classmate R and his mom V. I recently invited them over for coffee. That’s around the time I heard of “Nupur’s What with my cuppa ? “ event. It seemed fortuitous !!! I am not a tea drinker but will go the extra mile for a cup of coffee. The way I figure ……..you can eat the same snacks with tea as you do with coffee. This time its being hosted by Chef Mireille’s Global Creations.  At the same time, I  also found out that Simply Tadka was hosting the Kids Delight : Street Food event , which Srivalli of Spicing your life began. Again ….fortuitous !!! I know how hard it is to cook for kids as I seem to have given birth to very picky eaters !!! This one, the kids actually tried and ate more than one bite, which in my house is pretty big !!! I figured with this particular recipe, I kill two birds with one stone…so to speak 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hence, I am always on the lookout for new recipes. I happen to think that these kind of snacks make excellent appetizers ! Once during a time crunch when something I made didn’t work out, I came up with this one. Yes, it happens to all of us. Do you really think that all my experiments are successes ??? God, I have eaten my way thru a fair share of failures !!! They are just never made public !!! Anyway back to the topic at hand .I made SEMIYA BONDAS ( VERMICELLI FRITTERS ). It is ridiculously easy to make and everything you need is probably in your pantry. It is soft on the inside, crunchy on the outside. It has tang from buttermilk, a hint of earthiness and warmth from ginger and some heat from green chillies . This is a very different way to use semiya or vermicelli. 

Semiya Bondas ( vermicelli Fritters )

There are  a couple of things to remember. Do not soak the vermicelli in the buttermilk for too long.It loses its crunch and ends up too soft. If it does, then just a couple more tbsp of vermicelli and fry immediately. If you are using long vermicelli pasta, break it into small pieces. I use the roasted ones since that’s what I have in my pantry !! Also do not make the fritters flat, they become crisp all thru and you lose the juxtaposition of soft insides and crunchy exteriors !! I have also added  grated carrots to the batter to make it more colorful to kids. It doesn’t always work with my kids but maybe it will yours ??? 

V really liked these so did A, while N and D only ate 2 but that’s a victory in my book !!!  ! I promised V that I would post the recipe soon on the blog……as I said fortuitous !!! I think I have used this word way too many times in this post. Well, I am teaching N new words to improve his vocabulary! I guess its rubbing off !!! Back to food, I have made this several times and I have had the same reaction every single time which is saying a lot since everyone has just different tastes in food !!! So when you find a recipe that pleases people universally you should definitely have to ahve it in your repertoire !!!

SEMIYA BONDAS

 

1 cup Vermicelli

1 cup Buttermilk

1 inch Ginger, chopped finely

1-2 Green Chillies, finely chopped

2-3 tbsp Cilantro, chopped

1 tsp Salt

¼ cup All Purpose Flour

¼ cup Rice Flour

¼ cup Red Onions, finely chopped

8-10 Curry Leaves, chopped

Oil for deep frying

 

Soak the vermicelli in buttermilk for 20-25 minutes.

Add all the other ingredients and form a batter.

If you need to add some more buttermilk. It should not be thin but not as thick as a vadai batter.

Drop spoonfuls in hot oil and deep fry till golden brown. Drain and serve with chutney of your choice.

Semiya Bondas ( Vermicelli Fritters )

