Tags

,

Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

Strawberry season is almost over !!! I had planned on taking the kids strawberry picking but rain ……well rained on my parade , almost every weekend !!!! I had to make do with was available at supermarkets since my farmers market was rained out too , most weeks !!! Well, a couple of weeks ago I ended up buying a couple of cases since my littlest A , loves them. But , apparently he was over them so I was left with one case wondering what to do !!! I had been thinking of making strawberry lemonade cupcakes for quite some time every since I discovered pink lemonade icing !!

I had previously made Cardamom Strawberry Cake so I thought why not just make the cupcakes following the same recipe just omitting cardamom. Now you can use a strawberry cake mix and readymade icing…..whatever works for you. I had strawberries so I made it from scratch but could not bring myself to make the icing too…..laziness, pure and simple !!!

I ended up making these cupcakes……..soft, fluffy and absolutely delicious , covered with refreshing tart , lemony icing !!! It reminded me of a summer evening spent sitting outside , cool breeze in the air, watching the coconut trees sway, fighting with my sis over who gets the next piece of mango ……..we didn’t get strawberries in India then ……..or who gets the cool drink and who has to go in to get it !!!! Now that I think about it, it was exactly that ………..summer in a cupcake. This is one I will make again and again for sure. 

This is off to Simple and in Season at Ren Behan.

Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

  

1 cup all Purpose Flour

½ cup Sugar

½ tbsp Baking Powder

½ tsp Salt

2 Eggs

¼ cup Butter, at room temperature

½ cup Strawberry Puree

¼ cup Milk

1 tbsp Lemon Zest

1 can Pink Lemonade Icing

Strawberries for garnish

Pre heat the oven to 350 F.

Cream the butter and sugar together till well incorporated. The color will lighten slightly.

Now add the eggs one at a time and mix well.

Add the strawberry puree, lemon zest and milk . Beat till it all mixes and turns a light pink .

Sift the flour with salt and baking powder.

Add to the wet mixture and fold till all mixed.

Line a cupcake pan with liners and pour the batter.

Bake till the skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. It should take 15-20 minutes.

Cool on a rack , if you have the time or cool on the rack for 5 minutes and then the refrigerator for 10 minutes if you are in a hurry.

Ice the cupcakes with lemonade icing and garnish with strawberries.

