Tags

, ,

broccoli noodle slaw

A week or so ago, we were enjoying a few warm days and of course, complaining about the fact that it is almost november and fall hasn’t come around yet !!!! Never satisfied……yup !!!! Anyway, I took advantage of those last few warm days to make summery food, basically nothing that involved slaving over the stove !!!! My cousin S, who lives a couple of streets down from us, who also happens to be a good friend……..well she was just commenting over the fact that she had changed so much over the years and thats when I realized that not only has my personality undergone a drastic change, so has my cooking style !!! Not I can put more more emphasis on cooking than a personality change !!  Once I would have slaved over the stove for hours, now I refuse to cook meals that take more than 30-40 minutes !! I will not compromise on variety or quality but spending more time with my kids and V has become very important. The kids are growing up faster and I want to enjoy every single moment !!!!

Now where were we ???? Yes, summer recipes……though, technically I ate this salad for the first time during a Thanksgiving lunch at the twin’s preschool !!! Now, it doesn’t sound much like a summer recipe does it ???? Well, read on and you’ll understand why I call it one. One the moms, J, made this BROCCOLI- RAMEN NOODLE SLAW. It was so good……amma ate 2 helpings and made sure I got the recipe from J !!!! You must be tired of hearing me say “its easy and simple” but as I said earlier, I refuse to make any complicated dishes !!! I have enough complications in balancing my needs , the needs of my kids & V and everything else that comes along in my life !!!!

This is an excellent salad…..Crisp shredded broccoli with sweet carrots, a slight bite from green onions, crunchy ramen noodles all encompassed in a sweet- sour dressing. I loved it. I, being me of course , made a couple of changes to it….I used pistachios instead of almonds ….why you ask, b’coz I had them and did not have almonds !!!! I also used dried cranberries ….I just love the chewy texture and slightly sweet but sour flavour they add. I also used an Indian Ramen Noodles , but ramen noodles from any store is fine. Use which ever flavour you like best. Mine was Masala or Curry, depending on which I got my hands on first !!! Lets be honest, to me both are the same !!! As usual, we need heat in any dish prepared in this house , so my version got a small hit of fiery Sriracha too !!! Now tell me who would not like a dish with all these flavours !!

Broccoli Ramen Noodle Salad

BROCCOLI – RAMEN NOODLE SLAW

1 pkg./bag Broccoli Slaw Mix

1 pkg. Ramen Noodles including flavour pouch

1 bunch Green Onions ( Scallions ) , cut in 1 inch lengths on a diagonal

½ cup slivered Almonds, toasted slightly

¼ cup Vegetable Oil

3-4 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar

1 tbsp Sugar

1 tbsp Honey

½ – 1 tsp Sriracha Sauce

½ tsp Pepper

Salt to taste

To make the dressing, just whisk together the oil, vinegar, sugar, honey, Sriracha and pepper.

Add the contents of the flavour pouch and mix. Taste and add salt as necessary.

Mix together the slaw, green onions and almonds.

Break the ramen noodles into small pieces and mix well.

Dress 10 minutes prior to serving.

I like using broccoli slaw but if you are not a fan, this tastes equally good with coleslaw mix. You can mix green and purple cabbage. As I said earlier, I used pistachios instead of almonds but walnuts will work well too. Sunflower seeds are also an excellent choice. Most common recipes use just plain sugar and large quantities of it but I prefer a combination of honey and sugar ……..to me honey rounds out the sweetness of the sugar. A lot of times when I eat sugar, I get that hit of sweetness and then a drop but with honey the sweetness is less intense and the flavour lasts longer. It also adds a floral note depending on which honey you buy. I am not one for advocating buy organic and buy only this kind but the one product that I go out of my way to buy organic and fresh is honey. The tastes do not compare !!!

