Tags

,

Red and White Quinoa Salad

Love-hate relationships…..everyone has them, mine is with food!!!! I love food but the scale hates me when I indulge in that love!!!! I have struggled with my weight all my life and I have found that it has gotten harder the older I get. Over the last few years, I have come to the conclusion that it’s a life style change but its hard to maintain it………temptation lurks around every corner!!! I have found that a small changes like no sugar, reducing your carb intake, eating less for dinner make a huge difference!!! I have taken to eating mostly salads for dinner or soups depending on weather and I have a cheat day when I can indulge, though reasonably. It’s going slow but I’m keeping it off so I’ll take it!!!

Most of the time, my salads are greens tossed with a dressing though I do experiment with the dressings. Once in a while I will make a salad with a grain for variety. I have developed a liking for quinoa, though it’s now so ridiculously expensive that I only make it occasionally!!!! Quinoa is the latest super grain…..cultivated by the Incas in the Andes in South America. It’s high in protein and is gluten free. It is high in iron, manganese, vitamin B2, fiber and lysine, which helps in tissue repair!! I find that when cooked well, it tastes great. There is one thing to remember……it is not a low calorie food, it contains the same amount of calories as brown rice so portions do matter!!!!

This is my simple quinoa salad…nothing fancy just a simple vinaigrette, quinoa and some veggies, that’s it but it packs a flavor punch!!!

Red and White Quinoa Salad

Red and White Quinoa Salad with Spicy Dijon Vinaigrette

 

½ cup White Quinoa

½ cup Red Quinoa

¼ cup Red Onion, finely chopped

¼ cup frozen Corn, defrosted and drained

¼ cup Cherry Tomatoes, halved

¼ cup Cilantro, finely chopped

2 tbsp. reduced sugar Dried Cranberries

Juice of 1 Lemon

1 tbsp. Dijon Mustard

1 tbsp. Honey

1 tsp. Sriracha Sauce

½ cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

 

To cook the quinoa, add 2 cups of water and the quinoa to a saucepan. Cook according to the package instructions.

To make the dressing, place the mustard, honey, sriracha, lemon juice, oil, salt and pepper in a jar. Shake well till emulsified. Set aside.

Toss the quinoa with all the other ingredients and the dressing.

Serve warm or at room temperature.

This is off toNo Croutons Requiredat Tinned Tomatoes andDish it out – Whole Grainsat Kachuss Delights.

no+croutons+requiredDishItOut2

