Tags

, , , ,

Thai Style Sesame Peanut Noodles

Thai Style Sesame Peanut Noodles

Let me begin by wishing everyone a “Happy New Year”!! I hope everyone has a joyous and prosperous 2017!!

I been away for quite a bit…….I kept putting if off because…in my opinion……I didn’t have the right recipe to come back with…..quite a bit of laziness was also involved!!!! Anyway, I never did make a dish spectacular enough for my…. comeback! That was also when I received a stern talking to from my sis ………her friends were asking why I’ve been missing for so long. I’m grounded enough to realize that food blogs are numerous and mine is not popular enough to be missed to a great extent. I started this blog to chronicle my culinary adventures and also as a cookbook for my kids. But that convo made me realize that I might have a few followers who might actually miss me!!! Thank you guys!!

My parents are visiting and so is my sis and her brood. My dad is turning 70 in march but school, work and other factors make it impossible for us to meet then so we made do and met during the holidays. Both of appa’s brothers who live in the US made it too. There are certain expectations associated with visiting my house…one of which is eating good food, the other …….is eating new dishes!! Now as much as I love creating new dishes and cooking them for family ,sometimes it’s hard as I have creator’s block……. the cook’s version of writer’s block. No matter how much I walk around the farmer’s market, ethnic food aisles, spice aisle…..I am not inspired!!!! Though many a time, I have just gone with the easiest and tried and true recipe……..coz it’s just easier!!!

img_5906

Thai Style Sesame Peanut Noodles

So when my sis and my bro in law N, came up to me and asked for something new that I’ve never made before……. I was stuck! So I turned to my handy notebook where I have made notes over the years and I found a recipe that I had noted many years ago……. a Thai version of the sesame peanut noodles that I make on a regular basis. I fused many cuisines with this particular recipe, I used Japanese Soba noodles with a Chinese -American recipe and added a good hefty dose of Thai flavors. It ended somehow becoming this warm, earthy, comforting plate of noodles that encompasses every part of the palate……sweet, savory, spice, heat, umami! The earthy spices coupled with the unctuousness of peanut butter and sweetness from the coconut milk makes a beautifully nuanced dressing for the noodles which have an earthy and nutty flavor on their own! Add in crunchy veggies and It becomes a dish that’s pretty irresistible!!

 

THAI STYLE SESAME PEANUT NOODLES

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 45 mins
  • Print

Ingredients:

8 oz Japanese Soba Noodles

¼ cup Carrots, peeled and cut into matchsticks

¼ cup French Beans, cut on a diagonal

¼ cup Peppers, sliced

2-3 stalks of Green Onions, cut on a diagonal

1 tbsp. Sesame Seeds, for garnish

1 tsp Sesame Oil

 Sauce:

1 tbsp. Oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 Shallot, finely minced

1 tsp Galangal, minced

1 Thai Green Chilli, sliced

1 tbsp. Red Curry Paste

½ tsp Turmeric

½ cup smooth Peanut Butter

¾ cup Coconut Milk

½ tbsp. Dark Soy Sauce

1 tsp Lime Juice

1 tsp Brown Sugar

Salt to taste

 

Directions:

  • Cook the soba noodles according to the directions on the package.
  • In the oil, sauté the garlic, shallots, galangal and green chilli for a minute. Reduce the heat to low.
  • Then add the red curry paste, turmeric, peanut butter, coconut milk, soy sauce and lime juice. Whisk until smooth. Then add the sugar and salt. Whisk again. Simmer on low for 3-4 minutes.
  • Meanwhile microwave the carrot, beans and peppers for 2 minutes. This will cook the veggies but still keep them crunchy.
  • Toss the veggies and noodles in the sauce. Remove from heat.
  • Drizzle sesame oil and garish with sesame seeds before serving.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

